Home > Uncategorized > I Joined The Circus!

I Joined The Circus!

It’s true, I’m running away with the circus.

People’s reactions to this are so interesting. About half are excited for me, the other half think I’ve lost my damn mind.

This post is my way of explaining that I didn’t lose my mind, I just might have different priorities than you. ;)

I’ve been trying to think of the best way to simply explain my reasons for joining the circus. The best analogy that I came up with is this:

Some people become nuns or monks and join a monastery. I joined the circus.

To me, the simple bare bones lifestyle that is inherent to circus life is appealing. Not having a lot of Stuff is appealing. Traveling, working with my hands, caring for the lives of others, celebrating life with others, performing and entertaining, these are all appealing.

Caring for animals, especially horses, has always been a sort of spiritual practice for me. I am a very holistic-based person, I need to DO things. I love reading and learning that way, but for me to really feel fulfilled and to truly grasp a concept I need to experience it.

It makes me really sad when people who are close to me don’t trust my judgment, especially regarding my own life. I’m sorry if I’m not the person you wish I was or expected me to be, but I’m more sorry you can’t accept me for who I am. I think a lot of people have forgotten the meaning of life. What do I think is the meaning of life?

I think the meaning of life is to live it. That simple… but humans make it hard. To truly live is to grow, to take risks, to be authentic. That’s what I’m striving for and I’m sorry if there are people who can’t see that.

That reminds me of one of my favorite quotes on page 260 of Forever by Pete Hamill.

“I don’t know what that means. To truly live.”
Kongo paused again, his eyes wandering to the walls of the cave, to the blackness at the far end.
“To find work that you love, and work harder than other men. To learn the languages of the earth, and love the sounds of the words and the things they describe. To love food and music and drink. Fully love them. To love weather, and storms, and the smell of rain. To love heat. To love cold. To love sleep and dreams. To love the newness of each day.”

Though I have to say, a LOT of people have been incredibly supportive and I am so grateful for that!

Oh and for the questions I keep getting asked:

  • I’ll announce which circus once it’s 100% said and done & I talk with the production manager about being public.
  • There are no large exotic animals (no elephants, tigers, bears, etc.)
  • I saw all the animals and met their owner (the trainer) and they are all well cared for and content. I would never take a job that sacrificed animal welfare.

So stay tuned…

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. September 10, 2010 at 9:50 pm | #1

    Congrats on making the decision to strive for what you love!! I’m excited for you and await hearing more about your journey! Yeah! Go circus freaks – love it!

  2. October 28, 2010 at 11:54 am | #2

    I think it’s great that you did this!!! This is coming from someone who left her home state of New Jersey to go real far: New York City! So I applaud you!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

