Home > Uncategorized > Why I Love Lady Gaga And Her Message

Why I Love Lady Gaga And Her Message

“I was always an entertainer. I was a ham as a little girl and I’m a ham today,” says Lady Gaga, 23, who made a name for herself on the Lower East Side club scene with the infectious dance-pop party song “Beautiful Dirty Rich,” and wild, theatrical, and often tongue-in-cheek “shock art” performances where Gaga – who designs and makes many of her stage outfits — would strip down to her hand-crafted hot pants and bikini top, light cans of hairspray on fire, and strike a pose as a disco ball lowered from the ceiling to the orchestral sounds of A Clockwork Orange.

Um… that’s fantastic.

Here’s the deal. I think American culture still suffers from aftershocks of it’s Puritanical beginnings. These beliefs (the naked body is bad! people do NOT have genitals omg!) permeate beneath the surface of our hyper-sexualized pop culture that has been increasing exponentially for the past fifty years. This unnerving cognitive dissonance in our societies’ belief system overwhelms all of our cultural references.

Our society says (I’m paraphrasing):

  • girls like (are) pink. and cute(sy).
  • women & men have equal rights, but women you better be attractive or Ur Doin It Rong.
  • men commit sexual harassment = “boys will be boys” “he has needs/can’t help it”
  • women are harassed = “she was asking for it” “she should have been doing XYZ in that situation”
  • if teenage girls wear spaghetti strap tank tops and skirts shorter than where their fingertips land on their thighs they’re automatically sluts
  • if teenage girls don’t try to hype their sexuality they will never be popular
  • be attractive, never outrageous
  • whatever you do (women), always put the ‘other’ first (i.e. people pleasing is rewarded)
  • whatever you do (women), do not push boundaries!
  • if you are a celebrity and a woman, forget it, you are no longer a human. we (the people) DESERVE to rip you apart, judge you, and condemn you!

And so I take us back to the excerpt from Lady Gaga’s official bio. Gaga, against the odds of her life experience, pushed beyond societies’ hypocrisy and did what made her feel good. Did what made her love herself. Did what she loved.

Often, when a young woman does things that not only make her feel good but that are at odds with convention she becomes a freak, an outcast. Gaga has expressed many times how she felt like a freak as a teenager and is doing what she does now for all “the little monsters” who can relate.

Is she perfect? Certainly not. She had the feminist community in a tizzy over the summer when she stated in an interview, “I’m not a feminist – I, I hail men, I love men. I celebrate American male culture, and beer, and bars and muscle cars…”

But you know what? She’s doing something right, and in her growth as a pop icon she is also growing as an artist, as a woman and as a human being. In her recent interview with Barbara Walters she explained, “I guess you could say I devoted myself so strongly to my music that for a while I forgot about my family. But um, I only get one set of parents, and um, I think I forgot about that for a little while. But now I get to keep my father, and have music.”

Do I agree with all her antics? All her choices? No. I have a proclivity to abhor things such as “Beautiful Dirty Rich” and tend to avoid the Lower East Side club scene. ….it’s just not my scene (though sometimes I wish it was). That’s fine. TO EACH THEIR OWN. What I LOVE is that she has taken pop music and mass media to make brutally honest artistic statements. I thought her 2009 MTV Video Music Awards performance of “Paparazzi” – a tribute to Princess Diana – was amazingly bold and beautiful. (3:05 to the end is what I’m talkin’ about) And yes, I’ve always been a sucker for theatrics.

So what do you think? There have been several mini discussions about her the past few weeks in various circles of people I associate with, and they’re all interesting. Is she a good role model? For who? In what context? Does she live up to the hype? Does her music stand on it’s own outside of her theatricality? Do you think she’s overly sexual or because her sexuality has a context it’s okay?

All questions worthy of their own time in the limelight. Maybe I should do a Lady Gaga blog series. 😉

  1. January 28, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    You made me think tonight … thanks 🙂

    • 700stories
      January 28, 2010 at 10:09 pm

      you are welcome! Thinking’s good. 🙂

  2. The_Timekeeper
    January 28, 2010 at 10:47 pm

    I really knew nothing about Lady Gaga (other than the frequent rotation of her songs on pop radio) … before the Oprah interview. I thought she was interesting, authentically creative/talented, thoughtful, dedicated to ideas she thinks are important, loyal to her fans, appreciative, a perfectionist, confident but endearingly self-conscious about inadvertently revealing her bra size while showing Oprah her costumes.

    She came off as intelligent, respectful, human and like she knew where her character(s)/performance ended and she began. That said, I really haven’t seen any of her performances other than what those clips on Oprah showed. I enjoyed her performance on the show, and I now leave the radio on when yet another Lady Gaga song comes on for the -nth time that day … just because I think about the thought she described putting in to her music, lyrics, costumes and career … and I appreciate someone who cares that much.

    • 700stories
      January 28, 2010 at 11:17 pm

      Yes, she is definitely a perfectionist. Her performance on Oprah was really rough, but I’m glad the audience didn’t seem to notice/care and she pulled it off. She is, above all, professional.

  3. March 5, 2010 at 2:03 pm

    I just wrote something in my blog about her and how she became an icon for the gay culture. I guess her outlandishness and sincerity make her a good role model, if there is one. At the very least, she’s asking everyone to “be themselves”, and though that could be a little, say, naïve, it’s still a good message. At least she can make people think twice when listening to her music, whether it’s good or lame. I just… don’t know what to make of her, actually 😛

  4. August 1, 2010 at 6:43 am

    Like i need to say this. Lady Gaga is the best!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

