Home > Uncategorized > End Fat Talk Follow-Up: Project Lifesize & Meghan Tonjes

End Fat Talk Follow-Up: Project Lifesize & Meghan Tonjes

Friday was the end of the “Fat Talk Free Week” Campaign… but that doesn’t mean we should go back to using it! So I wanted to do a follow-up blog featuring the talented singer-songwriter and youtube sensation/social entrepreneur Meghan Tonjes.

I discovered Meghan’s music a year or so ago. Through her youtube channel I’ve been able to watch her release her first album, “Be In Want”, the call for submissions for fans to be a part of her first music video, and the posting of the completed video for her song “The End”, as well as her posts of many brilliant covers on her Request Tuesdays which most have over 1,000 views each including her cover of “Circus” by Britney Spears which has 33k+ views to date and “Not Fair” by Lily Allen which has 122k+ views to date! 

Not only has Meghan made a name for herself as a rising acoustic singer-songwriter on the internet, she has also created a collaborative youtube channel called Project Lifesize that has branched out into a whole social media network that acts as a support system and oasis for women and men to come together and practice self-love, as well as bring critical voices to the hypocrisies and double standards of society. Project Lifesize recently celebrated it’s one year anniversary and currently has over 2,000 subscribers on the youtube channel. 

I asked Meghan if I could interview her for this blog, and the Q&A is below. What I love the most out of what she said was that Project Lifesize isn’t necessarily about weight (size or fat) acceptance, but about self-love in general. It’s not just for plus-sized people, it’s not even just for women. It’s about authenticity and participating in life regardless any body image issues you may be struggling with, as well as giving a voice to those struggles to show that no one is alone. 

***Q & A with Meghan Tonjes***

7S: Why did you start Project Lifesize?

MT: I started Project Lifesize September 2008. It was a reaction to harassing comments and messages I was receiving on my Youtube videos, often centered around my weight and physical appearance. While I was rarely affected by these comments, I didn’t want my younger subscribers to see them. I knew many people avoided posting their own videos in fear of receiving the same hate. I initially put out a casting call, looking for 6 other women who could portray a more accurate and hopefully a more positive view of curvy women. The goal was always to create a dialogue,not about weight acceptance, but self love.

7S: Has Project Lifesize changed the way you view yourself and the world?

MT: Project Lifesize definitely opened a new world up to me. Until then I had never considered myself a part of a plus size community, mostly because there was no community around me. I was always the biggest girl and often felt alone because of it. The women and men who have been a part of the channel, on a regular basis or as Viewers of the Month, have really opened my eyes to different issues that we all are dealing with. It’s easier for me to tell my own story now, whether the stories are funny or sad, because I’ve interacted with the most supportive group of people. I’ve become more comfortable and confident with who I am inside and outside as I’ve seen all of the people who have dealt with the exact same issues. Beyond just men and women who struggle with weight, we’ve connected with people who have felt outcast in general.

7S: Do you find that women in your life fat talk, and if so, how do you react or respond?

MT: Weight seems to be something that women in my life are generally aware of. You know, I don’t think my parents were ever prepared for a plus size child and this led to some pretty hurtful moments in my childhood. Growing up, I’ve always been surrounded by women dieting and trying to be a certain size. I always avoided the topic when it came up.  It wasn’t until recently that I connected  and became friends with curvy, confident women. I remember going to New York several months ago, being on the Subway with two gorgeous, plus-size models. They didn’t care who was looking at them or what people were saying and it made a real impression on me. There was never a mention of losing weight to fit a certain mold, if anything they spoke of having curves as something to be proud of. 

7S: Do these topics come into play as a singer-songwriter and/or as a performer?

MT: Being in the entertainment industry, people automatically want to put you in a box. You are told that in order to be known or successful you have to fit a certain mold and it can be in some ways I think you have to work a bit harder to win people over. Looking the way I do, I feel sometimes that people expect me to be bad. They want me to be a joke. I always see it as a challenge though, and enjoy shocking people out of their own misconceptions.

7S: Who are your greatest musical influences?

MT: Ah! That is a crazy question to even begin to answer. I’m always inspired by strong, female singer-songwriters. Sarah Mclachlan. Tristan Prettyman. Tori Amos. Ani Difranco. But, there’s something about guys with guitars…*sigh*. Jason Mraz, Joshua Radin, Duncan Sheik.  Some of my biggest influences lately have been the indie musicians I’ve met through Youtube. I feel a kindship with them because it is a whole new medium. Chris Cendana. Frank Bell. Katelyn Autry. Allison Weiss. Mike Falzone.Greg Holden… The list just goes on and on.

7S: Who are your greatest role models in regard to size acceptance and health at every size?

MT: I grew up not really feeling like I HAD any one to look up to in regards to size acceptance. I didn’t even know acceptance was an option. I feel like I sort of had to become the person I wasn’t seeing represented. Every day I think we’re finding positive role models who happen to be musicians, artists and writers. I find Joy Nash to be a positive influence on size acceptance in the Youtube community and was really influenced by Wendy Shanker (writer of “The Fat Girls’ Guide to Life”). Every day though, I meet men and women who don’t fit the “norm” and prove themselves to be the most beautiful, giving and loving people. They are my role models.

7S: Any words of wisdom for girls out there who think they can’t pursue a career in a performance-related field because of their size or appearance? 

MT: Whoever said “Sticks and stones can break my bones, but words can never hurt me” was a bold faced LIAR. You’re going to experience a lot of resistance, but if you’ve found something you love and you’re willing to fight for it…then the only person who can stop you IS you. For every person who hates you because you dare to look the way you do and try to be anything other than miserable, there are ten more who are inspired or moved by your passion. I know that the fear of what someone might say can be paralyzing, but talent and hardwork will lead you to people who “get it” and who genuinely want you to succeed. So, just do it already.

****

For more information about Meghan and her music please visit www.meghantonjes.com. You can also view her original music as well as her Request Tuesday cover songs at www.youtube.com/tonjesml and be sure to check out Project Lifesize at www.youtube.com/projectlifesize. Below is Meghan’s official music video for “The End”. 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. October 30, 2009 at 1:35 am

    A wonderful interview with an incredible artist :). I truly enjoyed reading this.

  2. November 29, 2009 at 3:26 pm

    That’s funny, i recently came across your blog and have been reading along.. I have just got interested in blogging and hopefully i am able to do so

  3. February 26, 2010 at 11:20 am

    This is great. Really nice post. Very Informative and helpful post.

  4. February 27, 2010 at 12:27 pm

    very use full information. thank you.

  5. March 14, 2010 at 1:37 am

    Good read … headline catchy … good points, some of which I have learned along the way as well (humility, grace, layoff the controversial stuff). Will share with my colleagues at work as we begin blogging from a corporate perspective. Thanks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment